PuSh Organizational Review

Recent updates:
PuSh Membership Elects New Board
Community Conversation Report

In the spirit of transparency, we have created this forum to share information and updates, documenting the organizational review currently underway and the Advisory Group activity. We also hope to hear from you. Please provide feedback, ask questions, or leave comments, using the contact form at the bottom of the page.

Kenji Maeda

Kenji is Uchinanchu-Japanese-Canadian with experiences diverse and grounded in his passion for exploring the intersections between arts, education, health, and building community. He is currently the executive director of the Greater Vancouver Professional Theatre Alliance; artsvest BC program manager for Business / Arts; CEO of Production Heads Network; and an arts and culture consultant.

Kenji has produced and worked on shows with local companies such as Boca del Lupo and Neworld Theatre, and was previously the executive director of DOXA Documentary Film Festival. He is a graduate of Banff Centre’s Cultural Leadership Program, and is a lecturer for Simon Fraser University’s Thriving as a Cultural Entrepreneur course. As a facilitator and consultant, his clients have included: BC Ministry of Tourism, Arts & Culture; Kelowna Kiwanis Festival; Alley Theatre; Okanagan Festival Singers; UBC School of Nursing; Vancouver Coastal Health, Neworld Theatre; and Studio 58 @ Langara College.

Kaen Valoise

Kaen is Ojibwe from the Red Rock Nation and French Canadian. She grew up on the unceded ancestral territory of the Kanien’kehá:ka Nation, in Tiohtià:ke, and became a long-term guest on the unceded ancestral territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm, Skwxwú7mesh, and səl̓ílwətaʔɬ Nations in 1994. With a background in non-profit organizations and festivals, Kaen joined CapU’s Indigenous Education and Affairs team in 2020. When not deep in spreadsheets or organizing meetings, Kaen enjoys listening to music or attending concerts, watching movies, or laughing with friends – most often while sharing great food.

Cory Philley

Cory is a writer, performer, director and producer. She is also the Theatre and Events Services Coordinator at the Shadbolt Centre for the Arts in Burnaby where she is the Artistic Director for the Shadbolt’s theatre season, directs the Artist-in-Residency program and manages events and concerts in Deer Lake Park.

Cory was one of the founding members and co-artistic director of La Luna Productions (1998-2007) and has worked as a freelance theatre publicist and production manager for such Vancouver-based companies as Ruby Slippers, Neworld Theatre and Boca del Lupo.

Cory is a graduate of the Simon Fraser University’s School for the Contemporary Arts and she has just completed her MA in Graduate Liberal Studies program at SFU. Her thesis project was her play, Hoarding Paradise, about a woman with compulsive hoarding disorder.

Activity & Progress

A complete list of activity and progress can be found below. Simply click on the title you would like to review to learn more.


Please find a chronologically sorted list of all 2021 Organizational Review related meetings below. Should you have any questions or feedback, we encourage you to use the contact form at the bottom of the page to get in touch.

For a complete list of 2020 meetings, please view this PDF document.

DATETYPE OF MEETINGATTENDEES
Mar 2, 2021Regular Board Meeting / AGM PreparationJudith Bosire – VB
Frank Durnford – VB
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S
Feb 24, 2021AGM Preparation MeetingJudith Bosire – VB
Dr. Carl Nohr – C
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S
Feb 10, 2021Regular Board MeetingJudith Bosire – VB
Frank Durnford – VB
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S
Feb 2, 2021Regular Board MeetingJudith Bosire – VB
Camyar Chai – G
Frank Durnford – VB
Kenji Maeda – G
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S
Jan 25, 2021Joint Board & Advisory GroupJudith Bosire – VB
Camyar Chaichian – G
Frank Durnford – VB
Kenji Maeda – G
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S
Jan 19, 2021Regular Board MeetingJudith Bosire – VB
Frank Durnford – VB
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S
Jan 5, 2021Regular Board MeetingJudith Bosire – VB
Frank Durnford – VB
Cory Philley – VB
Tory Ross – VB
Janet Webber – VB
Jason Dubois – S

VB = volunteer board member | S = staff | C = paid consultant | G = guest

Please note: This list is updated weekly.

View & download here.

Having completed the first phase of our Organizational Review, two of the Advisory Group members are stepping down.  We would like to offer our sincere thanks to Advisory Group Member Maiko Yamamoto and Organizational Review Facilitator Nicki Kahnamoui for their insights, their guidance, and their generosity in leading and supporting this first phase of the process.  We are in the process of working with the Board of Directors and the remaining Advisory Group members to recruit additional advisors and facilitators to lead the next phase of the review process.

As many of you are aware, in June 2020, our board and management undertook significant organizational restructuring, which resulted in hard-hitting questions being asked by the community. As a result, we formed an Advisory Group and started an Organizational Review. We continue to be committed to the JEDI framework developed and reported in the review Summary Report. This work has been ongoing and although some of the actions we want to take have not moved forward swiftly, we are pleased to share some recent updates.

Read about all changes here.

View & download here.

Please note, this is a working section and will continue to be updated.

Organizational Review Guidelines & Outcomes

What are we hoping to achieve through the Organizational Review process:

  • To rebuild PuSh with a just and equitable creative structure for governance, leadership, and programming.
  • To restore PuSh as an organization & festival respected amongst our colleagues, where volunteers, staff, and board feel proud and energized about their work, and artists feel cared for and valued.
  • To ensure PuSh has a well-articulated vision to support its redevelopment.

The guiding principles for the Organizational Review:

  • We are doing this work in the interest of PuSh’s mandate.
  • We will design a transparent process that is responsive and iterative with clear delineation of responsibility and accountability.
  • We will consult, seek input, and authentically engage with one another and our many communities, compassionately, and in good faith. We will listen and do our best to heal our relationships. We want to move forward in a good way.
  • “We will do the best we can until we know better. Then when we know better, we will do better” — Maya Angelou
  • We will continue to respect and maintain the privacy of current and former staff/board members as well as other participants.
  • We will question everything: our assumptions, structures, processes, policies, and the distribution of power within the organization and will take an equity-focused view in rebuilding the organization.

We recognize that:

  • PuSh has budgetary constraints and will work within those.
  • The constraints of operating as a non-profit within current funding and legal structures – we will push to the edges of those constraints.
  • We are doing this work during a pandemic.
  • We are in relationship with many communities.

Your Feedback

We would like to hear from you. Please provide feedback, ask questions, or leave comments, using this contact form, or email us at advisory@pushfestival.ca.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.